Share with Friends

Vince Buhayan

Vince Buhayan and his buddies take Junior Relay Record

After missing out on the 100 Palaro and National Junior record due to too much wind. And then claiming sole ownership of the 200m Palaro record.

Vince Buhayan and his three buddies from Western Visayas helped themselves to the National Junior Record in the 4×100.

This report falls late as I had to verify all the dates of birth for record-keeping. Buhayan, Angelo Getilga, Ralph Anthony Lego and Tristan Plotria are all verified to be born in the year 2001. Making the requirements for a junior record.

The winning time of the Western Visayas high school quartet at the Palaro of 42.66. Eclipsed the mark of the RP Youth Team of 42.76 of Jason Jabol, Buhayan, Jhovian Calixto, and Veruel Verdadero (3 of the 4 runners from STCAA) at the 2018 ASG.

While it broke the National Junior Record, it tied the two hand-timed records in place at the Palaro. The 2017 Calabarzon Team, and 2018 Western Visayas Teams both having clocked 42.5. It Surpassed the electronic record of 43.06 set in Legazpi by another Western Visayas Team. The Palaro records are summarized here and contain fixes as to what has been reported on the DEPED website.

Undoubtedly this second write up is probably going to crash my server. We had 500 visits to our first writeup on Algin Gomez amazing performance in the Long Jump so far today. Nearly 2000 visits today. It is the vibe of the Palaro that attracts large swarms to our site. 

Vince Buhayan

2019 Palarong Pambansa Davao City – Our next Writeup is on Vince Buhayan ‘The Beef’ who has had a meteoric rise this year in the boy’s sprints. Vince who was runner-up in the Secondary Boys 100m last year showed he did not want to be the bridesmaid anymore.

Taking the scalp of 2x Palaro Champion Veruel Verdadero of NCR. And taking the National High school title and mantle of the fastest high schooler in the country stopping the clock at an impressive 10.62.  Had it not been for a +2.3 m/s tailwind, it would have been well under the National Junior Record of former national athlete Daniel Noval of 10.74 set in the 2012 Thailand Open. The mark, however, is the #2 fastest time ever by a Filipino Junior in any conditions only Ralph Waldy Soguilon has ever run faster as a junior with a 10.56 (no wind gauge) at the 2002 UAAP.

Due to wind assistance, the 10.75 meet record of Kasi Feberoy (CRAA) set in Legazpi City in 2016 still stands.  However, will still note the 10.62 on the record sheet for future reference. Although this is Vince last year in the Palarong Pambansa he still has until the end of 2020 to break the National Junior Record.

Vince Buhayan

The Rest of the Field

Quite an impressive Field with Veruel Verdadero who won two Palaro titles for STCAA and then shifted to JRU. Doing his absolute best with 10.81 for a silver (PB 10.89,2017) and Alhryan Labita (PB 10.99 in heats). Allen Delos Reyes who took bronze at the national open was 4th in 11.00 (PB 11.13 heats), one to watch out for is the youngest man in the final Kian Dale Joner who is born in 2003, Jason Jabol the Batang Pinoy National Champion took 6th place.

It was Veruel and Labita who took the fastest times in Heat 4 both dead heating at 10.99. But Vince was toying with the rest of the field running a cruisy 11.05 in the heats. 

Build Up

Buhayan has already represented the country at the 2018 ASEAN School Games in Malaysia. At that time a novice he was eliminated in the 100 Heats with 11.38 but he made the 200 Final where he finished last in 22.99. Following that we next saw Vince at the Western Visayas meet where he clocked 10.6, 21.6, 48.9 (hand-timed) for the 100/200/400.

He then legitimized his performances by winning the Junior sprint treble at the National Open in Ilagan last March with 10.92 (0.5), 22.23, and 49.57. 

Doing Trebles is what Vince does and he aims also to win the 200 and 400 this Palaro.

Vince is coached by Nicasio Valenzuela in Iloilo, in fact, Vince even lives with his coach. Vince has a spot reserved at Mapua University.

Moving Forward

As of now Vince although his time is wind-aided just sits behind the 2015 SEA Games Champion and National Record Holder Eric Cray (10.56) and National Champion (10.61) Anfernee Lopena this year in terms of rankings. With two slots for SEA Games Vince would need to move into the top 2 to ensure SEA Games selection in the individual event although he can most probably look towards a 4×100 slot.  

According to the 2018 Standards for World Juniors Vince needs to go a bit faster with a legit 10.55 in order to qualify for the 2020 World Juniors in Nairobi, Kenya.

Vince Buhayan Tidies up the 200m Record

Exhausted from his 100m run. Vince’s chances of a sprint treble at Palaro were ruined when he finished behind Alhryan Labita.

Vince took it easy running around 22.60 in the heats. But in the Final, he clocked a new PB of 22.00 (+0.9) (has done 21.6 ht). The mark eliminated both the hand time record of Jomar Udtohan (21.8 = 22.04 converted) set in 2014. And the electronic record of John Carlo Yuzon 22.43 set at the 2016 Palaro. 

It also surpassed his winning time at the National Open. Which he took the Gold in 22.23 in Ilagan last month. Vince has represented the Philippines once in 200 finishing 7th in the final in the last ASEAN School Games. As he is in Grade 11 he will lineup again for the ASG.

Vince got the better of 2x Palaro Champion Veruel Verdadero (NCR). Who was some four meters back and relinquished their title. NCAA High school Champion Tracy Soriano (STCAA) took Bronze. 

On this occasion the Junior Record 21.84 of Raul Abangan (set 32 years ago) eluded him but he did climb to #6 all-time. 


Facebook Comments

By Andrew Pirie

Andrew was elected Vice President of the Association of Track and Field Statisticians in 2020 after being a member for 7 years. He has worked as a PSC Consultant and Research Assistant from 2013-2015, Consultant, and Sprint Coach at Zamboanga Sports Academy from 2015-2017. Current editor and chief of, and has recently done consultancy work for Ayala Corp evaluating the Track and Field Program. Coaches Sprints, Middle and Jump events he is working towards his Level 3 Athletics Australia Coaching Certification in Sprints and Hurdles. He can be contacted on [email protected] You can find more information on Coaching here

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
Wordpress content guard powered by