Share with Friends

Cebu Marathon 2020


COUPLE GOALS. Elite runners Ruffa Sorongon and Azlan Pagay, who have been in a relationship for six years, topped the men’s and women’s division of the Cebu Marathon. It was the fourth time the two swept the men’s and women’s divisions in a race. (Sunstar Photo / Amper Campaña)

Cebu Marathon 2020 (Jan 12)

In Cebu, domestic partners Azlan Pagay and Ruffa Sorongon, a power duo in the running community, did this rare feat as they bagged the men’s and women’s titles in the 42-kilometer category of the 2020 Cebu Marathon on Sunday, Jan. 12, 2020, at the Cebu Business Park.

Cebu Marathon 2020
Azlan Pagay and his long-time girlfriend Ruffa Sorongon will join over 6, 000 runners in the SM2SM Run 10 that will be held on Sunday, February 16, 2020. | CDND File Photo


“It’s a blessing from God that he gave us this talent. Another blessing was this championship for both of us,” Pagay told SunStar  in Cebuano after the race.

“Our relationship started because our runner friends teased us,” Pagay said in jest.

“We’ve been in the relationship for seven years now and to have the same sport and interest has helped us to really understand each other,” said Sorongon.


The next stop for the two athletes is the Milo Marathon National Finals on Jan. 19 in Tarlac City. Sorongon is aiming to improve her fourth-place finish, while Pagay looks to get a good time on his first national finals in three years.

NB. 2017 SEA Games Champion Mary Joy Tabal did not join the Marathon as she is resting for the Milo Marathon in Tarlac on January 19.

Cebu Marathon 2020 RESULTS

  • Denotes Performance is strong enough for National Ranking List of 2020

Women’s 5K

Cebu Marathon 2020

  1. Marielle Estreba 19:50*
  2. Asia Paraase 20:35*
  3. Moira Frances Erediano 20:56*
  4. Abigail Odelmo 21:02
  5. Artjoy Torregosa 21:26

Men’s 5K

  1. Alfrence Braza (Iloilo) 16:36
  2. Florencio Lapiz 16:49
  3. Jaymar Magdaleno 17:07
  4. Rin March Gonzaga 17:13
  5. Hanny Tigaw 17:18

NB. Braza Palaro 1500m Champion

Women’s 21K

  1. Cherry Andrin (Lapu-Lapu) 1h40.21*
  2. Engiel Estillore (Lapu-Lapu) 1h50.24
  3. Jenefer Paloma 1h56.15
  4. Lucita Fernandez  1h56.22
  5. Danielle Anderson 1h58.09

Men’s 21K

Cebu Marathon 2020

  1. Eric Chepsiror (Kenya) 1h15.42
  2. Prince Joey Lee (Cebu) 1h18.02
  3. Downs Fabian 1h20.01
  4. Romulo Balinas Jr. 1h22.13
  5. Ruel Algufera 1h25.28

NB. None of the local performances make the 1h17 required for National Ranking Lists for 2020

Women’s Marathon

  1. Ruffa Sorongon (Sultan Kudurat) 3h25.34*
  2. Evamie Villarin 3h34.00*
  3. Lizanne Abela 3h41.42* (newspaper reported 3rd as 3h31.42 which is faster than the #2 typo)
  4. Kaye Razel Cundangan 3h49.51*
  5. Sandra Soliano 3h56.29*

Men’s Marathon

Cebu Marathon 2020

Men’s 42k Winners1st: #795 Azlan Pagay (Davao City) 2h53.45 *
2nd: #392 Joseph Arnel 2h54.54 *
3rd: #235 Michel Largo 3h05.57
4th: #1245 Paul Zafico 3h07.02
5th: # 397 Engbino Desederio 3h10.38

Paul Jumamil also proposed to his girlfriend and fellow triathlete En Torres at the Cebu Business Park

Cebu Marathon 2020


  • Philstar



Facebook Comments

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
Wordpress content guard powered by