Mary Joy Tabal

Last Updated on January 14, 2023 by Andrew Pirie

2019 Milo Marathon

For Articles on Rafael Poliquit


2019 Milo Marathon Results Finals

Held at Tarlac City on January 19, 2020

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

2019 Milo Marathon Results Hallasgo ends the 6-year reign of Tabal at the Milo Marathon

2019 Milo Marathon Results Hallasgo and Tabal
Hallasgo and Tabal Christine Hallasgo (left) with Mary Joy Tabal (right)

19.01.2020 Tarlac City

2019 SEA Games Champion Christine Hallasgo proved that she is the New Marathon Queen of Philippines Athletics by winning her first National title at the 2019 Milo Marathon Finals in Tarlac City.  Hallasgo ratified this again with another victory over Mary Joy Tabal. Mary Joy Tabal is an Olympian, National Record Holder in the Marathon, and the 2017 SEA Games Champion. But as the dust settled on this occasion, it was Hallasgo, the rising star from Bukidnon. That put to an end the 6-year winning streak of the legendary Mary Joy Tabal of Cebu.

Hallasgo clocked yet another Personal best of 2h52.23, improving again on her Personal best of 2h56.56 set at the SEA Games just last month. Tabal finished second with 2h58.49, and Christabel Martes, a former 2x SEA Games Champion, came third in 3h05.40. Tabal’s time of 2h58.49. It was identical to the time she registered at the 2019 SEA Games to secure the silver medal.


6th All-Time

Hallasgo’s time of 2h52.53 places her 6th on the All-Time List of Filipino Women Marathoners. Behind Tabal, Banayag, Martes (all former SEA Games Champions), Mary Grace Delos Santos, and Arsenia Sagaray.

Hallasgo qualified for the national team earlier last year and is now training with the legendary Eduardo ‘Bertek’ Buenavista, a former Olympian, and 4x SEA Games Gold Medalist, who still holds the Phi Record in the Men’s Marathon. Under Buenavista, she improved her PB from 3h04 to 2h52.

Hallasgo, who was earmarked by PATAFA as a contender to qualify for the Tokyo Olympics later this year, still has a a long way to go.  The Qualifying standard is 2h29.30, and Hallasgo needs to make this by June 22. This means in 5 months; she has to improve by 23.23 minutes or 4 minutes 41 secs each month on average.


2019 Milo Marathon Results Zabala wins his first national title

Hallasgo and Tabal Hallasgo and Zabala
Hallasgo and Zabala


It was a good day for Mindanao Athletics. When Jerald Zabala, who hails from Cagayan De Oro, crossed the line in a blazing sprint finish in 2h31.16. Zabala’s time was a slight personal best improvement on his 2h31.25 set last year.

While he won over Richard Salano narrowly in 2h31.17. With the 2016 Milo Marathon Jeson Agravante pursued them for third in 2h31.55. All 3 are members of the national team. Anthony Nerza, who represented the Philippines in the SEA Games, faded to 10th place with stomach problems.

Zabala was runner-up last year to the late Rafael Poliquit.

Hallasgo and Zabala both netted 150,000 pesos each for winning the prestigious Milo Marathon.

Former Milo Girl, Nheann Bharcena at the age of 38, won the Women’s Half Marathon (21.1k) in a New Personal best of 1h26.51.

2019 Milo Marathon Results

2019 Milo Marathon Results

  1. Link here for an article on Christine Hallasgo and Zabala Milo Wins
  2. Official Website


Milo Marathon 2019 Cebu 10K Overall

1 13729 Eric Chepsiror M 35-39 00:33:38 00:33:34
2 13561 Gemar Magdalino M 18-34 00:35:35 00:35:32
3 13559 Jemar Morales M 17 Below 00:35:53 00:35:50
4 15567 Edzel John Ardiente M 18-34 00:38:11 00:38:08
5 15553 Arcelo Oswaldo M 17 Below 00:38:16 00:38:13
6 13523 Jewin Ochea M 17 Below 00:39:51 00:39:48
7 15233 Jemar Alberio Maghanoy M 18-34 00:39:52 00:39:48
8 15558 Peter Canumay M 18-34 00:40:20 00:40:17
9 15055 Darwub Tabal M 18-34 00:41:32 00:41:26
10 15520 Elison Mejares M 18-34 00:41:40 00:41:37









Milo Marathon 2019 Cebu 21K Overall

1 23124 Prince Joey Lee M 18-34 01:11:59 01:11:54
2 23221 Aries Saballa M 18-34 01:14:29 01:14:26
3 23125 Florendo Lapiz M 18-34 01:14:40 01:14:37
4 24132 Joseph Arnel Emia M 18-34 01:15:27 01:15:23
5 24309 Ruel Algufera M 18-34 01:15:32 01:15:30
6 23207 Azlan Pagay M 18-34 01:17:19 01:17:16
7 23123 Jerome Casinillo M 18-34 01:20:07 01:20:03
8 23220 Noel Tillor M 18-34 01:20:57 01:20:56
9 23184 Michel Largo M 35-39 01:21:39 01:21:38
10 23122 Desiderio Engine M 45-49 01:21:52 01:21:47









Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

For 2019 Final Results

Also, Check out Milo’s Website

2019 Milo Marathon Elimination Results

Loader Loading...
EAD Logo Taking too long?

Reload Reload document
| Open Open in new tab

Today July 28, in Manila. 21K Milo Eliminations National athlete Richard Salano Seasons Best 1.11.29, Wagdos 2nd 1.14.10 and James Kevin Cruz 3rd 1.15.41.

The Performance ranks Salano 10th in the SEA Rankings for 2019. Led by Thai Nattawut Innum with his run of 1:05.19 on July 19. Buenavista, who coaches Salano, holds the Phi Half Marathon Record at 1:02.58.

Nhea Ann Barcena won the Women’s 21k at the Milo Marathon Elimination in 1h34.52. The time is well outside the 1h27.59 threshold to place Top 10 in the 2019 SEA Rankings.

Cindy Lorenzo was second in 1h37.44.


Share this Article

Like our Facebook Page

By Andrew Pirie

Andrew was elected Vice President of the Association of Track and Field Statisticians in 2020 after being a member for 7 years. He has worked as a PSC Consultant and Research Assistant from 2013-2015, Consultant, and Sprint Coach at Zamboanga Sports Academy from 2015-2017. And Currently is Consultant Coach with VMUF 2021- Current editor and chief of, and has recently done consultancy work for Ayala Corp evaluating the Track and Field Program. Coaches Sprints, Middle and Jump events he is  Level 3 Athletics Australia Coaching Certification in Sprints and Hurdles. Currently working towards a Masters Degree in Education. He can be contacted on [email protected] You can find more information on Coaching here

You cannot copy content of this page