2017 Philippines National Open Athletics

2017 Philippines National Open Athletics

2017 Philippines National Open Athletics
Beverlie Tariao, Airnel Abarra (Team Manager) and Princess Joy Griffey. Team Blue Knights.

2017 Philippines National Open Athletics Day 1

Patrick Unso led the qualifiers to the 110 Hurdles with a time of 14.53 to win Semi 2. Patrick is the  2015 SEA Games bronze medalist and Philippine Record Holder with a time of 14.12. UAAP Champion Clinton Kingsley Bautista who is a member of the National team won the first semi 1 in 14.90.

With the absence of SEA Games Silver medalist Mervin Guarte, defending champion Marco Vilog and Wenlie Maulas a perennial medalist. Elbren Neri held a very easy lead in the Heats of the Men’s 800m in 1.55.99 through the heats.

The Men’s Steeple Chase was won in 9.33.65 by Immuel Camino the NCAA Champion from national teammate Jomar Angus 9.50.17. SEA Games 2013 and 2015 Champion Christopher Ulboc pulled out of the race with cramps.

The Men’s 100m Heats NCAA Record Holder Anfernee Lopena showed he could be on his way to his first national title with a hand-timed 10.3. With strong Fil-Heritage bets SEA Games 100m Champion and Philippine Record Holder Eric Cray and Phi 200 Record Holder Trenten Beram opting to focus on other events. And 2015 Champion and Manila Open Champions Fil-Heritage Brandon Thomas and Bryan Mercado opting not to join the event.

National athlete Jomar Udtohan had the second-fastest time in 10.6.

In the Women’s Heats, Heat 1 was won in 12.25 by former UAAP Champion Eloiza Luzon 12.25, from UAAP Silver medalist Kimberly Zulueta 12.39, and Kugparaiya Chandran a SEA Games 200 finalist in third in 12.45.

In Heat 2 Lam On Ki of Hong Kong had the fastest time of 12.08. Fil-Heritage sprinters  Princess Joy Griffey the 2014 PNG Champion and 5th in SEA Games 100 clocked 12.17 ahead of 17-year-old National 400m Record Holder Zion Rose Nelson 12.27. Griffey who is now 30 years old was the best Filipina sprinter for 2005 to 2015, an extremely long reign as #1.

Christabel Martes

Speaking of longevity National 10,000m Record Holder Christabel Martes, 37 took a win in this event in 38.40.52. The former 2x SEA Games Marathon champion beat her younger opponents Jho-ann Villama (aka. Banayag) another former SEA Games Marathon Champion 40.20.56, and Airforce Miscelle Gilbuena was third in 42.43.75.

Here are some results from Day 1 of the PATAFA 2017 Philippines National Open Athletics.


Wordpress content guard powered by JaspreetChahal.org