Share with Friends

2017 Milo Marathon Finals: Titles and Tears for Tabby (Top 10 Results)

Dec 3 , 2017


2017 Milo Marathon Finals: Titles and Tears for Tabby (Top 10 Results)

A Tough Day for Tabby. Mary Joy Tabal crosses the line for her 5th Milo Title. Photo Credits to Milo Philippines

It was a tough day for Mary Joy Tabal. Who had to cope with the sad news that her beloved father had passed away yesterday. Asked whether she wanted to continue to run. Tabal responded I will as my father will be waiting for me past the finish lines. Tabal, 28 fought her emotions the whole race winning her fifth Milo Marathon title. And dedicating the win to the memory of her late father.


Truly a piece of History under the most unfortunate of circumstances. Tabal tied the record of the Arsenia Sagaray sharing 5 Milo Marathon wins.


Cheered on in front of her home crowd. The popular dainty 4’11 runner took time off her training in Tuscany, Italy to give back to Milo and was cheered on by the people of Cebu every step of the way. Tabal really proved once more she is ‘The Peoples Champion’. 


Tabal took the title in 2h58.01, 10 minutes shy of her Milo Record. But with the circumstances entirely understandable. 2001 and 2005 Games Champion Cristabel Martes took silver in 3h04.20 and 2009 SEA Games Champion Jho-ann ‘Banayag’ Villarma took bronze in 3h11.26.


Womens Results




Tabal looking for a fifth title, Milo Marathon a few days from now, Women’s Review and


Nov 30, 2017


Milo Marathon Women’s Review

Article by Andrew Pirie

ATFS Statistician



The Peoples Champion Returns to Cebu to defend her title.

SEA Games Champion and Olympian Mary Joy Tabal looks to make it five for five golds in the Milo Marathon.  Tabal is the only women to win the Milo Marathon 4 times in a row2013, 2014, 2015, 2016. If she can make 5 she will draw the record of Arsenia Sagaray and 2001,2005 SEA Games Champion Cristabel Martes. A piece of History for the Milo Marathon.


Tabal will fly back from her training camp in Tuscany, Italy, having ran half Marathons in

Spain and Singapore to prepare for the Milo. While Tabal focus remains the Asian Games in

2018. She is excited to perform in front of her home crowd in the event that launched her

running career.


The 41st Milo Marathon will be held in Cebu in a few days on December 3. And the course

starts at the Cebu Normal University.

Cristabel Martes


Tabal although expected to romp off with her fifth Milo Marathon fairly easily. The Battle will surely be for the minor places. Perhaps the biggest challenge will come from 38-year-old Cristabel Martes. The Baguio based Martes part of the legendary long-distance running stable of Mario Castro. While Martes times of 1h23.45 (Milo, Urdaneta) and 3h03.28 (Run Rio Series) Manila this year pale in comparison to Tabal’s 1h16.28 (Scotia Bank, Ottawa, National Record) and 2h48.26 (SEA Games Gold Kuala Lumpur). Martes can still hold her ground against the other woman in the race as she is the only other entry who has a PB below 3 hours in the Marathon.

Using a Runners World Marathon predictor we compared Half Marathon and Predicted Marathon times.

Ailene Tolentino of Philippine Army


Another top contender is Aileen Tolentino of the Philippine Army who has run 1h26.18 (CDO leg) which converts to 2h59.56. It will be interesting to see if Tolentino can join the Sub min club and land a top 3. Other contenders include Ruffa Sorongon (Tagbilaran Leg, 3h04.31 est), Former Milo and SEA Games Champion Jhoann Banayag-Villarma (Lucena Leg,  est 3h06.24). And the promising Christine Hallego who has returned after giving birth to win the Butuan leg (est. 3h09.12).

Womens 21k
11h16.28PHIMary Joy Tabal
21h23.45BAGChristabel Martes
31h26.18Ailene Tolentino
41h28.30Ruffa Sorongon
51h28.58Nhea Ann Barcena
61h29.13Jho-An Banayag Villarma
71h30.45MalaybayChristine Hallasgo
81h31.28Esterlita Organiza
91h32.07Judelyn Miranda
101h32.35Alexandra Ganzon


Womens Marathon
SEA GOLD2h48.26
12h48.26PHIMary Joy Tabal
23h03.28Cristabel Martes
33h15.36Lany Cardona
43h16.15Cinderalla Lorenzo
53h18.30Lizane Abella
63h22.18Maricar Camacho
73h23.29Lany Cardona
83h32.48Jennlyn Nobleza
93h35.51April Rose Diaz
103h37.42Maria Josephina Liao


2017 Milo Marathon Mens Rankings Whole Year

Mens Marathon
12h35.18PAFRafael Poliquit
22h37.12Cebu95Rafael Pescos
32h39.34DavaoJoerge Andrade
42h39.36Jeson Agravante
52h39.39Maclin Sadia
62h39.57Eugene Postrado
72h42.10Eric Panique
82h43.34Eduardo Buenavista
92h44.34Erinio Raquin
102h45.04Eric Laurel
112h45.16Azlan Pagay
122h46.59Jerald Zabala
132h47.31Noel Tillor
142h49.17Richell Laguido
152h49.25Elmer Bartolo
162h50.16Bryan Quiamco
172h52.30Bobby Tadlas
182h52.34Ramil Neri
192h52.51John Ray Onefa
202h55.49Joseph Somera

Article Coming on Poliquit, Agravante etc.



With the Milo Marathon tomorrow, catches up on the Men’s  Review for the Milo Marathon. With the quality of our Men dropping significantly having not secured a SEA Games medal of any color since 2013. The race looks to be an open field.

With no certain favorite for the Milo Marathon crown. The Milo Marathon will kick off tomorrow in Cebu.

Jeson Agravante 2016 Milo Champion arrives in Cebu to defend his title.

Looking to defend is last year’s Champion Jeson Agravante who holds a PB of 2h35:13. Has not run any Marathon or even Half Marathon races since the SEA Games in August. So far this year back in March Agravante clocked 2h57 at the Scotia Bank Marathon in Ottawa Canada, he did not finish at SEA Games due to cramps. It’s hard to access how well Agravante will go tomorrow as his current performances are unknown and he has focused mainly on training.

Please note ‘The Master’ Rafael Poliquit who was 2014 and 2015 Back to Back Milo Champion and has the fastest time in 2017 of 2h35:18 will not be joining. The fans will have to wait another year for The Masters moment.

Someone who has a very good chance is Richard Salano whose Half Marathon time would equate to about a 2h31 Marathon. According to Runners World Calculators.  

Also in contention for a Top 3 slot is Gerald Zadala, Bryan Quiamco, Bobby Tadlas, Cesar Castenato who have registered good Half Marathon times and local favorite Rafael Pescos who has run 2h37:12 which won the Milo NCR Marathon.

Mens 21K
11h11.32ARMYRichard Salano
21h12.42Gerald Zadala
31h13.12Bryan Quiamco
41h13.13MalyabayBobby Tadlas
61h13.28Cesar Castaneto Jr.
51h13.29Jimboy Lugay
71h14.32ARMYJujet De Asis
81h14.36Cam SurJeric Payong
91h14.37ARMYGilbert Laido
101h14.45Romnick Dago
Mens Marathon
12h35.18Rafael Poliquit
22h37.12Rafael Pescos
32h39.57Eugene Postrado
42h43.43Eric Panique
52h45.16Azlan Pagay
62h47.31Noel Tillor
72h52.30Bobby Tadlas
82h52.34Ramil Neri
92h54.16Eugine Postrado
102h55.49Joseph Somera

Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.




Facebook Comments

By Andrew Pirie

Andrew was elected Vice President of the Association of Track and Field Statisticians in 2020 after being a member for 7 years. He has worked as a PSC Consultant and Research Assistant from 2013-2015, Consultant, and Sprint Coach at Zamboanga Sports Academy from 2015-2017. Current editor and chief of, and has recently done consultancy work for Ayala Corp evaluating the Track and Field Program. Coaches Sprints, Middle and Jump events he is working towards his Level 3 Athletics Australia Coaching Certification in Sprints and Hurdles. He can be contacted on [email protected] You can find more information on Coaching here

Show Buttons
Hide Buttons
Wordpress content guard powered by