The national master’s athletics team pocketed one gold, four silver, and five bronze medals. While at the ongoing 2017 Asian MASTERS TRACK & FIELD CHAMPIONSHIP. Which was held at the Jiangsu Rugao Olympic Sports Center in Rugao, China?

Veteran international campaigner Erlinda Lavandia delivered the first gold medal of the country. By topping the women’s shot put (65 years) category.

She registered 7.85-meter output beating Chinese bets Zhou Bing Bing, who settled for silver with 7.02m showing. And Zhai Yuyun, who earned the bronze by virtue of her 6.99m performance in the tournament participated in by more than 30 countries.

While it was actually the third medal of Lavandia who also secured two silvers in the hammer throw and discus throw events.

Furthermore, Lavandia wants to wrap up her campaign on a high note. While she goes for gold in the javelin throw event today.

Especially relevant is that Lavandia took the gold medal in javelin throw in 2015. When she’s still competing in the 60-64 years category.

Other Performances

Earning silver medals were Arnel Lobos in the men’s long jump (60 years). And former Southeast Asian Games champion Rene Herrera in the men’s 3,000m steeplechase (35 years).

While Herrera also got two bronzes in the men’s 1,500m run and 5,000m run.

The other bronze winners were Julio Bayaban in the men’s 200m (55 years), Salve Bayaban in the women’s 200m (50 years). And Arnel Lobos in the men’s 100m hurdles (55 years).

Not as lucky was Emerson Obiena who ended up sixth in the men’s hammer throw (50 years), Dennis Scott – sixth placer in the men’s 2,000m steeplechase (65 years) and Drolly Claravall – 12th placer in the women’s discus throw (45 years). And Menchie Obmina-Muaña 6th place in the women’s 10,000m.

Obiena aims to bounce back in the men’s pole vault competition along with his brother Edward Obiena while Claravall hopes to barge in the podium in the women’s javelin throw category.

Also seeing action are Julio Bayaban in the men’s 100m 55 years, and Perla Lobos and Salve Bayaban in the women’s 100m 50 years.