2016 UAAP Athletics

2016 UAAP Athletics

Romnick Nor Roars to his first UAAP Title Mens 200m, Janario takes double

Nor edges off Mico (not pictured) and Clinton to take the UAAP 200m title

Romnick Nor roared to his first-ever UAAP Title in the Mens 200m dash. The UST Growling Tiger had the narrowest but most emphatic victory snatching the win in 22.31 from Michael Del Prado (DLSU) simultaneously. Nor is he currently in his third year at UST. He was the 2011 Palaro Champion, winning a string of junior national titles in the sprint events. 100m Champion Clinton Kingsley Bautista took bronze in 22.59.

Defending Champion Gabriel Soriano dropped to a disappointing sixth place with a very slow time of 23.00.

Janario takes double

Janario wins the UAAP 200 Title convincingly as Loterte and Luzon look on.

Meanwhile in the Women’s 200m Dash. Karen Janario bagged the 200 Meter Gold to go with her 100-meter victory the other day. Janario clocked 25.43, outside her 25.23 Personal best, but a very commanding victory over teammate Michelle Loterte at 26.03 and last year’s silver medalist Eloiza Luzon at 26.35. The trio made it a clean sweep of the podium for UST.

Janario will aim for her third individual gold medal in the 100 Hurdles tomorrow.


Teodosio of UST Breaks Pinoyathletics National Junior and UAAP Record in Hammer

Aira Teodosio

Aira Teodosio (UST)  who is better known as a Discus Thrower upstaged her teammates to obliterate the Pinoyathletics National Junior Record in the Hammer Throw with a big throw of 40.70m. Teodosio turns 19 in August

Teodosio beat the old mark National Junior Mark set by her teammate and defending champion Jessah Fernandez of 37.51m set at the 2013 UAAP at Dasmarinas. This added three meters to the record.

The Previous UAAP Record was set by Anabelle Sison (FEU) 10 years ago with a mark of 38.27m.

Her previous best of 36.26m was set in September last year at the weekly relays. Teodosio has represented the country already at the 2014 ASEAN School Games in which she placed fourth in the discus throw.

Fernandez the defending champion failed to register a mark. Teammate Luz Delfin a former Palaro Champion in Discus took silver with a new best of 37.04m and 18-year-old Mary Jane Lawas (FEU) took bronze also in a new personal best of 37.02m.

The National Record is currently held by Loralie Amahit-Sermona with a throw of 50.55m. Teodosio’s performance was third on the all-time lists behind Sermona and former national coach Roselyn Hamero (43.04m).

Obiena adds 1cm onto his National Record at UAAP

Ernest Obiena

Ernest Obiena of UST came another centimeter closer to qualifying for the Rio Olympics (5.70m) with new National Record of 5.46m at the 78th UAAP Championships in Pasig City. EJ has until July 11 to break the standard. He quickly flew out to the Asian Indoor Championships which will take place in Doha, Qatar later this week in an attempt to improve his performance.

Obiena’s previous national record of 5.45m was established at the Weekly Relays last September. This marks the 10th time EJ has broken the record.

EJ shattered his old record of 4.50m from 2012 while he was representing Ateneo.

David Managuelod (UP) took silver with a PB of 4.35m and Adel Valdecenas (DLSU) took bronze also with 4.35m.

Obiena a member of the national team since 2013, was the SEA Games Silver Medalist in 2015 in Singapore.


CKB and Janario win Sprint Titles at UAAPBautista defends his title


In an evening of surprises, two Black-Filipino Clinton Kingsley Bautista (CKB) and Karen Twiste Janario took the 100 Meter titles at the UAAP. CKB, 24 of Far Eastern University successfully defended his title in his last playing year. Bautista a member of the national training pool played in the 2015 SEA Games in the 110 Hurdles. He clocked a personal best of 10.87 in the heats, and 10.94 in the finals.

2014 PNG Junior Champion Romnick Nor (UST) took the silver medal in the 100m in 10.99, after clocking a personal best of 10.95 in the heats. Newcomer Josemarie Ramos (ADMU) took the bronze in 11.00, after clocking 10.95 in the heats. 2013 UAAP Champion Jasper Tanhueco of DLSU dropped to fifth in 11.14 seconds, while last year’s 400m Champion Gabriel Soriano (UP) was sixth in 11.17 seconds.


Janario unleashes a return

Karen Janario

Karen Janario (UST) was the unexpected winner in the Womens 100m Dash, clocking 12.36 just .02 outside her best time from the ASEAN School Games. The 2014 Palaro Champion won very comfortably, from teammate Michelle Loterte (UST) 12.58 who was the bronze medalist last year, and model Kimberly Zulueta (ADMU) 12.65 who came out of nowhere this year to win her first UAAP individual medal. Last year’s silver medalist Glaiza Salcedo (UST) dropped to fifth in 12.72.

But the big surprise was the loss of the favorite in the event Eloiza Luzon who recently was added to the national training pool along with Janario and Loterte. Luzon finished a disappointing sixth in a time of 12.78. The defending champion with her personal best time of 12.10. However, has been hampered by hamstring injuries with her best time in 2015 being 12.42.

Full Results

Share this Article

Like our Facebook Page

Leave a Comment