2015 Milo Marathon

Despite the facts stated above. Milo still advertises as an Energy Drink and still promotes people drink it everyday.

2015 Milo Marathon

Continued from:

Tabal Trebble, Poliquit defends title in Milo Marathon Finals

Dec 6, 2015

Same Winners from last year
Tabal and Poliquit in the center. With Afro Haired Rio Dela Cruz on the Left.


Milo Marathon 2015 Results in Full Results Here



Tabal Third Straight Title

26-year-old Mary Joy Tabal of Cebu notched her third consecutive win in the Women’s Division of the Milo Marathon. Tabal, who is the SEA Games Silver medalist in Singapore, took the win in 2h48.16. Just outside her meet Record of 2:48.00 established two years ago. Tabal finished second behind a Kenyan runner who clocked 2:43.

In wet miserable conditions, Tabal took her third win. Only two women have more with Arsenia Sagaray with five titles in 1992, 1993, 1994, 1996, and 1997. And Christabel Martes with four titles in 1999, 2000, 2001, and 2009.

Tabal started joining Milo Marathon events in 2010, playing second fiddle to Martes, Banayag, Manipol, and Mary Grace Delos Santos to begin with. A former member of the national team after resigning from PATAFA a few months back. Tabal will next do the Cebu and Boston Marathons to hit the tough Olympic Standard, now 2h42. Tabal and her coach Philip Duenas are working towards that.

Three for Tabby

A Grumpy Grace

2011 and 2012 Champion Mary Grace Delos Santos clocked in second in a time of 3h02. Grace, who had two SEA Games with no medal in 2013, wasn’t able to qualify. And then in 2015, a disappointing last in the 10,000m after failing to qualify for the Marathon event.

Bounced somewhat with a time under the slow 2015 SEA Games Gold medal-winning time of 3h03.25. This should see her retain her spot in the national team as it meets the criteria required for an athlete with 2 SEA Games in a row with no medal. By hitting the SEA Games gold medal standard.

Also hitting the SEA Games, the gold medal standard was Christabel Martes (who in 1999 became the youngest champion in Milo Marathon history at 19). Martes, now 35, also clocked 3h02.

Just a few seconds behind Delos Santos. However, she took a wrong turn towards the 21k finish line, which caused her to lose around a minute. The Philippines can only select two athletes for the SEA Games per event. Which will be held in Malaysia in 2017.

Rafael Poliquit defended his Milo Marathon title in 2h36. Under the SEA Games bronze qualification mark of 2h37.10. Poliquit, who last year moved up to Marathon from 5k and 10k. I was the surprise winner of last year’s Milo Marathon. The late Rosito Andaya coached the former FEU athlete. Not blessed with speed but relies more on surging tactics.

Coach (Dick) Beardsley told me its not the fastest who wins the (Marathon) but the smartest. Today wasnt about the time it was about the win.


National Record Holder and Multiple SEA Games champion in several events Eduardo Buenavista, 37. He faded out of the picture entirely and never really featured in the race. 2011 SEA Games Silver Medallist Eric Panique, who has been unable to train much due to the Philippine Army duties, wound up around 8th place.

The Milo Marathon was held in Clark this year due to two other road running events at MOA and Luneta.

“Turn out was quite good this year we had around 15,000 entries. I’m quite happy without everything turned out today.”


Said Milo Race Organizer Rio Dela Cruz had been a key driving force behind this event for many years now.


  1. http://rununlimited.blogspot.com/2009/06/33rd-milo-marathon.html
  2. http://www.philstar.com/sports/513079/sabal-wins-milo-run-finishing-kick
  3. http://www.sunstar.com.ph/cebu/sports/2015/12/04/gunning-grand-slam-445204

Share this Article

Like our Facebook Page


Leave a Comment