2015 Weekly Relays

Last Updated on March 16, 2023 by Andrew Pirie

2013 Philippine National Games Athletics Report Field Events

2013 Philippine National Games Athletics Report Track Events

Long Jump

Women’s long jump, SEA Games Bronze medallist Katherine Khay Santos who has come off an injury after the third leg of the Asian Grand Prix just managed to leap 5.66m. However, as Kat was the bronze medalist last SEA Games and established a mark of 6.17m at the Grand Prix just outside her leap of 6.25m  she should be eligible for more meets leading up to the SEA Games to obtain the qualification.

Kat is chasing her mark rather than trying to beat another SEA athlete into the third-place position. Marestella Torres the SEA Games record holder withdrew from the event before the competition due to injury. Felyn Doloso of Run for Change, the Junior Record Holder in the Triple Jump, was second with a new PB of 5.42m, and Joy Albinio of UST was third in 5.30m.

In the Mens Long Jump Philippine Record Holder Henry Dagmil won in 7.39m, with Mark Harry Diones of Run For Change at 7.12m and Benigno Marayag at 7.12m also.

Palaro Record Holder Julian Reem Fuentes of Run for Change won the Junior Mens with a leap of 7.09m. The runway at the Ultra affected performances.


Triple Jump

In the Mens Triple Jump 20-year-old Mark Harry Diones of JRU, another student of Jojo Posadas claimed his first national title in 15.38m. Multiple sea games medallist Joebert Delicano of the Airforce took the silver in 15.26m. Melbert Diones (Harry’s older brother) of JRU finished third in a PB of 14.83m. Janry Ubas of FEU won the junior men’s triple jump in 14.69m


High Jump

Janry Ubas of FEU leaped 2.06m to win the Junior High Jump. This was a big improvement on his personal best of 2.00m set at the UAAP. And might see Ubas gain a spot in the training pool.

It was a very exciting battle in the High Jump as both the Men’s Manuel Jr. Lasangue (Meralco) (2.10m last PNG SEA Games standard) and Reycris Capispisan (Laguna) leaped 2.06m. With the standard set at 2.09m for SEA Games and only two slots available, it will now come down to the exposure meets leading up to the SEA Games to decide who will represent the Philippines.


Pole Vault

Masters athlete Antonio Chee with Caleb Monticalvo (right) after the PV Event (Photo Credit: PPVC)[/caption]

Fil Heritage Vaulter Caleb Monticalvo of Run for Change took an easy win at the PNG vaulting 4.80m. The 23-year-old who has a PB of 5.10m which is above the Philippine Record beat Asian Masters Record Holder Emerson Obiena of Hua Liong at 4.20m and Palaro Record Holder Adel Valdecenas of DLSU at 4.00m.

Fil Heritage athlete Julio Alorro of R4C who had leaped 4.82m earlier this year and has a PB of 4.91m and former national champion Jerome Margallo of Hua Liong who has a PB of 4.64m both were not able to register heights.

17-year-old EJ Obiena of Ateneo broke his national record with a leap of 4.54m. In a high-quality junior final Janry Ubas of FEU was second in 4.20m and Jodrel Mandawe third in 4.20m. David Managuelod the Palaro Champion equaled his palaro performance of 3.80m.

Riezel Buenaventura of Run for Change who was fourth at the last SEA Games on count back leaped a season’s best of 3.80m to win the Women’s Pole Vault. Just 10cm away from the SEA Games bronze medal standard.



Eleazer Sunang beat his national record (16.56) to heave the Shotput to 16.58m, Sunang is chasing the SEA Games bronze standard of 17.12m.  It was an easy win for Sunang.



In the Junior Mens Discus Regan Contic of Baguio improved his best throw from 41.17 last

year to 42.72m, the 17-year-old still has two more years left in the Junior Division. Contic is a strong contender also for the national training pool having won the PRISAA title a few months before and defending his junior title aswell as being Palaro Champion last year. 

Aries Comperendando of JRU also improved his best from 37.94 to 39.44 to grab silver and Avery Caguyan of Mapua was third in 37.32m. Carlo Caong of CSB won the boy’s division with 39.58m.

Maika De Oro of Negros First won the Junior Womens in 37.96m, but it was around 2 meters away from her personal best. However, it was an easy win for her.



Arniel Ferrera recorded a season’s best 60.20m, just outside his PB of 61.62m from Vietnam in 2009. Ferrera is on a mission to reclaim his SEA Games gold having won the previous four 2003,2005,2007,2009. Matt Crespo won the junior hammer with 41.38M.

On the Women’s side, Loralie Amahit-Sermona the bronze medallist from the last sea games was the clear winner with 48.70m.

Meanwhile in the junior Hammer Jessa Fernandez broke the junior record of Loralie with a heave of 36.36m. The 18-year-old is coached by Joey Ming Lao of UST.



Danilo Fresnido of Laguna came very close to the SEA Games bronze standard of 66.27m, with a throw of 66.15m the 41-year-old who holds the national record beat the challenge of his younger rivals, Kenny Gonzales of Run, for Change 62.10m, and NCAA Record Holder Melvin Calano for JRU 60.87.

Joshua Patulud won the boys with 55.15m.

2009 SEA Games Champion Rosie Villarito won the women’s javelin with 48.55m from Heptathlete Narcisca Atienza, 2012 UAAP Champion Jenefer Penepona, and former UAAP Champion Aiza Rosero.

National Junior Record Holder Evalyn Palabrica of FEU won the jr womens with a throw of 40.97m.

4×400 Relay

Archand Bagsit, Julius Nierras, PSC Chairman Richie Garcia, Edgardo Alejan, and Junrey Bano

 The same lineup that won gold at the last SEA Games of Archand Bagsit, Edgardo Alejan, Julius Nierras, and Junrey Bano posted a time of 3:11.41.

rom right to left- Cedric Montesser, Ryan Bigyan,Coach Sean, Coach Ernie, Fernan Lopez and Raymund Alferos (Photo Credit: Sean Guevarra)

Meanwhile, the Mapua Junior Mens Team of Ryan Bigayan, Cedric Monteser, Fernan Lopez, and John Capingian broke the national junior record of 3:23 with a time of 3:21.10. The athletes were coached by Ernie Candelario (2001 and 2003 sea games gold medallist 400m) and national record holder in High Jump Sean Guevara.



Jesson Ramil Cid of Run for Change won the Decathlon with 6673 points ahead of Joebert Delicano (the veteran jumper was competing in his first decathlon) with 5731 points.  Janry Ubas of FEU scored 6055 points in the junior division which is within 30 points from Cid’s junior record.


Share this Article

Like our Facebook Page

By Andrew Pirie

Andrew was elected Vice President of the Association of Track and Field Statisticians in 2020 after being a member for 7 years. He has worked as a PSC Consultant and Research Assistant from 2013-2015, Consultant, and Sprint Coach at Zamboanga Sports Academy from 2015-2017. And Currently is Consultant Coach with VMUF 2021- Current editor and chief of Pinoyathletics.info, and has recently done consultancy work for Ayala Corp evaluating the Track and Field Program. Coaches Sprints, Middle and Jump events he is  Level 3 Athletics Australia Coaching Certification in Sprints and Hurdles. Currently working towards a Masters Degree in Education. He can be contacted on [email protected] You can find more information on Coaching here http://www.pinoyathletics.info/coaching-2/

You cannot copy content of this page