2012 Palarong Pambansa Athletics Day 3

Last Updated on March 3, 2023 by Andrew Pirie


New heroes in century dash and half mile shine in day 3 Palaro: MAU!!!!

Mau (tall sprinter in middle yellow) wins the century dash for girls.

LINGAYEN, PANGASINAN- Maureen Emily Schrivjers of NCR demons to rest, after trying three years to win the Palaro. Mau’s last success in this event came four years ago when she won the elementary title. Mau had gone in as the favorite for the last 2 Palaro but the pressure had caused her to finish outside the medals back then.

This year she finally went victorious as she capture the gold in the 100m secondary distaff race at the afternoon session on day three of Palarong Pambansa 2012 here at Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center. The lass from the capital region register a 12.5 win jousting NMRAA’s Eloiza Luzon who clocked only a fraction of a second at 12.6 settling for silver while Schrivjers’ confidant, Perlita Ynot Jra settled for the bronze podium with a clock of 12.7.

Although Maureen’s time was not able to erase the Palaro Record in the century dash for secondary girls still held by Nancy Navalta since 1994, it was always more about the win rather than the time which finally delivered in her final year of high school.




Other Sprints

Meanwhile, in the elementary girls, Joycie Beramio of WVRAA captured the gold with a time of 13.1 seconds. Her teammate Berna Luz Talaron went next to her taking a 13.1-second finish. Joining for the bronze slot is Josephine Kately Pano (CAVRAA) with a time of 13.5 Seconds. The 12.8 Palaro Record of Irene Mujar (BRAA) in 1997 remained untarnished by this year’s champion.

A record jointly held by three athletes in the Boys Secondary 100m Dash in 10.9 became safe for another year with pre-race favorite Romnick Nor injured but back for his final year next year. Three holders in this event are CAVRAA Ronald Calaunan 1998, Emmanuel De Ocampo 2006, and Daniel Noval of CVRAA 2010.

In the 100m sprint at the boys’ secondary level, Jonas Etuille of CVRAA captured the first laurel with a clock of 11.1. Jomar Udtohan of CLRAA settled for second place clocking 11.1 (0.9) and colleague Terenz Carlo Tongol from CLRAA as well secured an 11.2-second clock finish respectively. NCRAA got consecutive medals in the elementary boy’s side as Felix Libo-on garnered a 12.1 gold finish and teammate Emmanuel Gutierrez secured the second spot with a clock of 12.2 seconds. In third place is CAVRAA’s Mark Urbina with a 12.5-second sprint.


Middle Distance

Half-mile run (800m) closed the running events for day 3 is the 2:18.8 run of WVRAA’s Angelica de Josef which shattered the Elementary 800m Palaro Record set by Joneza Mie Sustituedo (WVRAA) last year who registered a time of 2:21.48. NMRAA’s Jie Anne Calis went to second place with a time of 2:22.1 and MIMAROPA’s Cheska Guintos clocked 2:27.2 respectively. In the secondary girls, Lovielyn Pamatian of WVRAA captured gold with a time of 2:18.7. NCRAA’s Trishia Martinez tipped the finish line with a clock of 2:20.8. Third place was got by DAVRAA’s Mae Barit who registered 2:21.6 time.

Salvador Garin’s 800m Palaro Record remained untouched this year as NMRAA’s Gerwen Mamba clocked 2:00.2 for first place which is still short of the 1:55.9 time of the STCAA standout. Reymark Dela Cruz of WVRAA goes for a silver run with a time of 2:00.5 and STCAA’s Michael Abanador registered 2:00.6 for the bronze finish.

In the field events, BRAA’s John Roel Sariols marked a 10.06m throw in the Elementary boy’s shot put. Next to him was Remier Sugui of Region I (9.76) and Jummy Cabalbag of CAVRAA (9.50). Lorenzo Lapajo of add gold to Western Visaya’s golden haul with a 1.90m leap in the Secondary boy’s high jump. Settling for silver and bronze were Jersell Cabatino of CVRAA (1.83) and Alvin Caasi of Region I (1.83).

(Updated as of 7:38; 10-May-2012) Report by Airnel T. Abarra

2012 Palarong Pambansa Athletics Day 4







You cannot copy content of this page